ISO 22301

ISO 22301:2012 The Business Continuity Standard

Click to view the course outline for BS-25999 Lead Auditor certification.


Continued operations in the event of a disruption, whether due to a major disaster or a minor incident, is a fundamental requirement for any organization. ISO 22301:2012, the world’s first British standard for business continuity management (BCM), has been developed to help you minimize the risk of such disruptions.

By helping to put the fundamentals of a BCM system in place, the standard is designed to keep your business going during the most challenging and unexpected circumstances – protecting your staff, preserving your reputation and providing the ability to continue to operate and trade.

ISO 22301:2012 has been developed by a broad based group of world class experts representing a cross-section of industry sectors and the government to establish the process, principles and terminology of Business Continuity Management.

It provides a basis for understanding, developing and implementing business continuity within your organization and gives you confidence in business-to-business and business-to customer dealings. It also contains a comprehensive set of requirements based on BCM best practice and covers the whole BCM lifecycle.

To Whom Is It Relevant?

ISO 22301:2012 is suitable for any organization, large or small, from any sector. It is particularly relevant for organizations which operate in high risk environments such as finance, telecommunications, transport and the public sector, where the ability to continue operating is paramount for the organization itself and its customers and stakeholders.


The Standards

ISO 22301:2012 comprises two parts:

Part 1, the Code of Practice, provides BCM best practice recommendations. Please note that this is a guidance document only.

Part 2, the Specification, provides the requirements for a Business Continuity Management System (BCMS) based on BCM best practice. This is the part of the standard that you can use to demonstrate compliance via an auditing and certification process.

Being independently certified to the ISO 22301:2012 Part 2 by BSI Management Systems, an independent third-party, will be the ultimate assurance to your stakeholders that you comply with BCM best practice.


ISO 22301:2012 in the News

DHS has adopted BSI’s Business Continuity Standard for PS-PREP

On June 15, 2010, Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Secretary, Janet Napolitano announced DHS has officially adopted three standards for their Voluntary Private Sector Preparedness Accreditation and Certification Program (PS-PREP). This program encourages private companies to implement one of three recommended Business Continuity plans: British Standards Institution, ISO 22301:2012; National Fire Protection Association, NFPA 1600 or ASIS International, ASIS SPC-1.